Home     •  Our Vineyard •  Genealogy •   Opening hours     •  Our Wines •  Wines Tasting •   Find us
Version française •  Growing vines in Quebec   •   Type of vines   •   The Cycle of the vine •  Photos •  Contact-us  •  Bergerie sur le Lac
 

 

I am madly merry, without however being drunk!... Would this be that I am finally happy of live...

Je suis follement gai, sans être pourtant ivre !... Serait-ce que je suis enfin heureux de vivre...


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

Growing vines Quebec

 

 

• It is said that the Greeks where the first who have developed the culture of the vine in XIIIe century before J-C. As the Hellenics were great navigators and traders and that they had seaports in almost all of the Mediterranean coast, it is extremely possible that they brought with them and planted vines a little everywhere in Europe while making the trade of the wine and oil.


• Then came the Romans who founded many European cities, at the time of their quest and occupation of the civilized world of the time, and possibly bequeathed the culture of the vine and the art of making the great elixir. After the dismantlement of their Empire, during centuries, the Catholic Church, thanks to the religious communities, will develop the vine growing techniques now known around the world; the principal goal being the supply of wine to celebrate the Eucharistic.

 

• In 1535, at the time of its second voyage in Nouvelle-France, Jacques Cartier noted that the vines grew in a wild state on the l'Île d'Orleans and, by going up the river to Montreal, he noticed that it grew everywhere from Quebec to the rapids of Lachine.

• As the wild grapes were not favourable to the making of wine, the French colonists took along with them stocks of vines of France, like probably did it my own ancestor Jean-Baptiste Gélinas dit Bellemare which came from the great Cognac area. A small wine tradition was already established at the beginning of the XVIIIe century, mainly to provide the wine necessary to the Eucharistic... And to supply the taverns of the region!

• Very gently, the vine growing progresses in Quebec to fall victim of the promotion of beer made by the new English Master from 1763 who will consequently support the establishment of breweries to provide to the needs for beer for the immigrants from United Kingdom. But the vine growing is maintained just as the making of the cider until prohibition (1916 to 1927), date on which wine industry is largely eradicated, both in Quebec and in the United States. Indeed, it is reported that in 1901 there were approximately 109,000 vines distributed on 94 farms; in 1931 not more than 2,000 vines on 4 farms were still growing... Other determinant factor, the takeover of the government on the market and sale of alcoholic beverages... what will also slow down the production of wine and the foundation of commercial vineyards in Quebec...

• The rebirth of vine growing in Canada starts in the Seventies whereas Iniskillin obtains in 1975 the first licence for a commercial vineyard in Ontario since the prohibition. In Quebec, it is only in 1977 that the first vineyard with a licence to sell appears; in 1984, 128,000 vines were cultivated, more than 500,000 stocks in 2000 for 38 vineyards.

• 1979- Gilles Rondo and Joseph Vandal create the first association of amateur vineyards.


• 1987- The Association of vine growers of Quebec is born; L'Association de vignerons du Québec


• 1996- The first Québécois wines are put on sale at the Société des Alcools du Québec.


The future of the vine growing business in Quebec is very promising; it is the only fruit-bearing production that has increased in the country. The wine consumption does not cease to increase in the country even if beer is always the alcoholic beverage holding the greatest parts of market in Canada with nearly 80%!!!

There is much work to do so that the wine industry takes again the place which it occupied at the beginning of the colony whereas my great grandfather Jean-Baptist Gélinas dit Bellemare, just as some French colonists and religious communities, made the wine... of the Nouvelle-France!

Personally, we drink only wine and cider at home... a taste inherited from our ancestors.

 

'Pour, pour the wine! Pour again and always, That I can forget the sadness of days...'

'Verse, verse le vin! verse encore et toujours, que je puisse oublier la tristesse des jours…'


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

 

Home     •  Our Vineyard •  Genealogy •   Opening hours     •  Our Wines •  Wines Tasting •   Find us
Version française •  Growing vines in Quebec   •   Type of vines   •   The Cycle of the vine •  Photos •  Contact-us  •  Bergerie sur le Lac

Accueil     •  Notre Vignoble •  Généalogie •   Heures d'ouverture     •  Nos Vins •  Dégustations •   Pour nous trouver •  Bergerie sur le Lac
English Version •  La culture de la vigne au Québec   •   Nos cépages   •   Le Cycle de la vigne •  Photos •  Contactez-nous  
 

 

Je suis follement gai, sans être pourtant ivre !... Serait-ce que je suis enfin heureux de vivre...


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

Culture de la vigne au Québec

 

 

• On dit que ce sont les Grecs qui ont, les premiers, développé la culture de la vigne au XIIIe siècle avant J-C. Comme les helléniques étaient de grands navigateurs et qu'ils avaient des ports maritimes dans presque toute la méditerranée, il est fort possible qu'ils aient amené avec eux et planté des vignes un peu partout en Europe tout en faisant le négoce du vin.


• Ensuite vinrent les romains qui fondèrent de nombreuses villes européennes, lors de leur quête et occupation du monde civilisé de l'époque, et léguèrent possiblement la culture de la vigne et l'art de la fabrication du vin. Pendant des siècles l'Église Catholique, grâce aux communautés religieuses, développera la viticulture; le but principal étant l'approvisionnement en vin pour célébrer l'Eucharistie.

 

• En 1535, lors de son deuxième voyage en Amérique du Nord, Jacques Cartier nota que la vigne poussait à l'état sauvage sur l'Île d'Orléans et, en remontant le fleuve jusqu'à Montréal, il remarqua qu'elle poussait même un peu partout de Québec en allant aux rapides de Lachine.

• Comme les raisins sauvages n'étaient pas propices à la fabrication du vin, les colons français emmenèrent avec eux des cépages de France, comme l'a probablement fait mon ancêtre Jean-Baptiste Gélinas dit Bellemare qui venait de la grande région de Cognac. Une petite tradition viticole s'implantait déjà au XVIIIe siècle, principalement pour fournir le vin nécessaire à l'Eucharistie...Et aux taverniers !

• Très doucement, la viticulture progresse au Québec pour tomber victime de la promotion de la bière faite par le nouveau maître anglais qui favorisera dès lors l'implantation de brasseries pour fournir aux besoins de l'immigration anglophone du pays dès 1763. Mais la viticulture se maintient de même que la fabrication du cidre jusqu'à la prohibition ( 1916 à 1927), date à laquelle l'industrie viticole est grandement freinée, tant au Québec qu'aux États-Unis. En effet, on rapporte qu'en 1901 il y avait environ 109,000 plants de vigne répartis sur 94 fermes; en 1931 il ne restait plus que 2,000 ceps répartis sur 4 fermes…Autre fait déterminant, on assiste à la prise de contrôle de l'état sur le commerce des boissons alcoolisées…ce qui mettra aussi un frein à la production de vin et à la fondation de vignobles commerciaux québécois…

• La renaissance de la viticulture au Canada se fait dans les années soixante-dix alors qu'Iniskillin obtient en 1975 le premier permis de vignoble commercial en Ontario depuis la prohibition. Au Québec, c'est en 1977 qu'apparaissent les premiers vignobles avec permis de vente; en 1984 128,000 plants de vigne étaient cultivés, plus de 500,000 ceps en 2000 pour 38 vignobles.

• 1979- Gilles Rondeau et Joseph Vandal fondent la première association de vignobles amateurs.


• 1987- L'Association de vignerons du Québec voit le jour.


• 1996- Les premiers vins québécois sont mis en vente à la Société des Alcools du Québec.


L'avenir de la viticulture au Québec est très prometteur; c'est la seule production fruitière en hausse au pays. La consommation de vin ne cesse d'augmenter au pays même si la bière est toujours la boisson alcoolisé détenant la plus grande part de marché avec près de 80% !!!

Il y a beaucoup de travail à faire pour que le vin reprenne la place qu'il occupait au début de la colonie alors que mon aïeul Jean-Baptiste Gélinas dit Bellemare, de même que quelques colons français et communautés religieuses, faisait du vin…de Nouvelle-France!

Personnellement, nous ne buvons que du vin et du cidre à la maison…Un goût hérité de nos ancêtres.

'Verse, verse le vin! verse encore et toujours, que je puisse oublier la tristesse des jours…'


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

Accueil     •  Notre Vignoble •  Généalogie •   Heures d'ouverture     •  Nos Vins •  Dégustations •   Pour nous trouver •  Bergerie sur le Lac
English Version •  La culture de la vigne au Québec   •   Nos cépages   •   Le Cycle de la vigne •  Photos •  Contactez-nous